Kacem El Ghazzali :
My statement at UN : Discrimination against atheists in Morocco
Maroccan Atheist asks; “Why must I be killed?”

In 2010, found myself threatened with death for declaring my atheism and expressing my doubts about Islam on my blogs.

Three years later, having been hounded out of my country into exile in Switzerland I had the chance to put my question directly to the Maroccan delegation at the United Nations. Speaking as an IHEU representative at the Human Rights Council:

Mr President
I am from a religious minority, I am an atheist. But as a result of publicly declaring my atheism I had to flee my native Morocco in fear of my life and seek refuge in Switzerland.
In 2010 I[1] was a victim of death threats, of physical violence, and of discrimination by agents of the State.
After posting several articles on the internet about my atheism and why I decided to leave Islam, I began to receive death threats, and people started to circulate my photo and address, calling on people to kill me. These threats were echoed by a public school teacher, who told students that I was an apostate atheist, showed them my videos and blogs, and said that I should be punished according to Islamic law – in other words, I should be killed. This was followed by demonstration against me in which the police refused to intervene. Instead I was taken from my home at night for interrogation by people who identified themselves as secret policemen.
When I tried to file a complaint against the teacher they refused to take up the case, saying it would be better to remove my blogs and apologise, and that they could easily arrest me because of a case taken out against me by an Islamic association. They added that declaring my atheism was the same as criticizing and insulting the king which under the constitution was considered to be blasphemy.[2]
May I, through this Council, ask the government of Morocco why, under the Constitution, is no atheist allowed to be a citizen? Why does the Constitution insist that anyone with an Islamic name must be a Muslim?” And why should an atheist be threatened with death?
Thank you Sir.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • muse1876  On March 15, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    To them if you are not a Muslim, you don’t deserve to breath the air they breath. Yet we allow them into our countries and let them kill and demand to be treated better than their own citizens.

Leave a Reply

